Why I let my Clients have Cultured Ghee on AIP

ghee 2

After spending months on AIP with only a few reintroductions and a feeling that something was missing, I was introduced to cultured ghee. Because I have a known sensitivity to dairy and eggs (and garlic, kidney beans and salmon ugh!) I stayed away from ghee even though many labels say “casein and lactose free”. I knew there could be trace amounts of both and therefore problematic for some. I even felt cautious letting my AIP clients who are not sensitive to dairy introduce it as an introductory foods, especially after this article siting connections between casein and brain autoimmunity. All of that changed however after discovering a lab tested, certified casein and lactose free ghee.

Actually, it was a wonderful client that connected me with Pure Indian Foods Ghee and I learned that they LAB TEST (yipee!!) their ghee to be certified free of lactose and casein. This is due to it being cultured, which allows fermentable bacteria to eat up an residual or trace amounts of either. The reason ghee is not allowed on AIP is due to it having trace amounts of lactose and casein (casein is a strong cross reactor to gluten too) So I started back on ghee this past December and I am really, really thrilled about it. I was feeling on the verge of being burned out on coconut oil anyway, so it was great timing. In addition to being lactose and casein free, it also is organic and 100% grass fed. It is Whole30 approved, heat stable, high in Vitamin K2, full of CLA fat due to being grass fed (conjugated linoleic acid) and its polyunsaturated fat content ratio of Omega 6 to Omega 3 is 3:1 which is a fabulous rating according to Mark’s Daily Apple.

In light of that, I decided to remove ghee from a reintroduction AIP item, to an all-phase AIP for all my clients as long as they use this specific cultured ghee that is certified free of casein and lactose.

I buy this ghee on amazon. I have amazon prime (best investment ever!!) and get it delivered in 2 days. I thought long and hard about making it officially introduced in my practice, but after experimenting on a few clients, I believe this across-the-board addition to the entire protocol will make the diet easier for many people. Plus ghee really tastes fantastic. And I am all for flavor 100% of the time.

 

38 Comments

  1. Pingback: Braised Artichokes with Crab and Cultured Ghee - AIP Lifestyle

  2. Avatar Linda August 4, 2015 at 4:23 pm

    I was very excited to see that you recommend a ghee that I might be able to tolerate. But the Pure Indian Foods website says this: “batch-tested to contain less than 0.25% lactose and less than 2.5 ppm casein/whey.” Does this amount not matter?

    Thanks!

    Linda

    Reply
    1. Jessica Jessica August 4, 2015 at 6:18 pm

      Hi Linda! I use Tin Star Cultured Ghee…the link is on my homepage. A photo of the jar of ghee on the sidebar takes you right to the site! They lab test theirs for casein and lactose..

      Reply
      1. Avatar Linda August 4, 2015 at 6:46 pm

        Thank you so much for your hasty reply, Jessica! I will order the Tin Star. What a treat!

        Reply
  3. Pingback: Dairy-free Mac and “Cheese” - Primal Palate | Paleo Recipes

  4. Avatar Lara August 4, 2016 at 1:16 pm

    I am confused. In your aiplifestyle.com/let-clients-cultured-ghee-aip site, you mention grass fed “Pure Indian Food” ghee as being casein and lactose free and even show a picture of the container, but farther down you say that “Tin Star” is the casein, lactose free ghee. Which is the one that you recommend?

    Reply
    1. Jessica Jessica August 5, 2016 at 9:02 am

      Tin Star lab tests their ghee to be casein and lactose free. I am not sure if Pure Indian Foods lab tests. They may. I usually recommend Tin Star because of this, but like both products!

      Reply
  5. Avatar Andrea April 5, 2017 at 7:22 pm

    Hi Jessica,

    I’m a big fan of your work, and I loved your book. I’ve been AIP for 2+ years and am ready to try to reintroduce ghee. I’m confused as to which one you recommend. I thought I had seen Tin Star recommended by you and there used to be a link on the sidebar, but now I can’t find it on your website and the product doesn’t really seem to be available anywhere right now. Is it no longer in production?

    Do you also recommend the one listed in this article – Pure Indian Foods? My understanding is that it is not 100% grass-fed, though they say they only use the milk during the spring when the cows are out on the pasture. Also, although they lab test, it seems like there may still be some trace amounts of casein – their website says โ€œbatch-tested to contain less than 0.25% lactose and less than 2.5 ppm casein/whey.โ€ Is that minimal amount okay? What do you use these days? Thanks!

    Reply
    1. Jessica Jessica April 20, 2017 at 8:02 pm

      I like Tin Star Cultured ghee! I think I wrote this article before Tin Star had come out. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *